What’s in a Name?

Cover to Tales of a 10th Grade Vampire HunterThe launch of this blog coincides with a big change in my first published novel.

This past August, my book Tales of a 10th Grade Vampire Hunter was released by Fable Press. The book introduced the adventures of my teenage vampire hunter Gidion Keep. Some people noted the title was quite a mouthful, and they were right. So why the long title? It was a bit of subtle humor on my part. As some of you might have noticed, my last name is the same as author Judy Blume (no relation). She’s known for her share of young adult novels, too. Among her most popular works is Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing. My choice of title was intended as a nod to Judy and our shared surname. In hindsight, perhaps that was being a tad too clever.

My publisher recently realized that the original title for my novel wasn’t connecting with potential readers, so they approached me about making a change, At first, I wasn’t too keen about the idea. The more I considered it and sought advice from other authors and booksellers, I realized this wasn’t necessarily a bad thing. Book titles and covers often need to change with the times.

Cover to Gidion's HuntAfter kicking around a lot of potential titles, we settled on Gidion’s Hunt. The name of my main character is a unique and strong name, so it made sense to get it front and center for readers. More importantly, it would help in branding the series. Every title involving Gidion’s adventures will start with his name. In some ways this takes the book back to its origins. When I first shopped the manuscript to agents and publishers, the working title was simply Gidion. I recognized it needed something more, but I wasn’t sure what it was. I believe we’ve now found what was missing.

So, while I have a soft spot for the original title, I’m excited about this change for the Gidion Keep, Vampire Hunter series. Who knows? Maybe those original copies will become a collector’s item.

About Bill Blume

Bill Blume discovered his love for the written word while in high school and has been writing ever since. His latest book Gidion's Blood is being released on August 11th by Diversion Books. His short stories have been in many fantasy anthologies and various ezines. Just like the father figure in his first novel, Bill works as a 911 dispatcher for Henrico County Police and has done so for more than a decade. He also served as the 2013 chair for James River Writers in Richmond, which produces one of the nation’s best annual conferences for educating and connecting writers.
This entry was posted in Gidion Keep series. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

