The Title to My Short Story Collection is…

Today, I finally get to announce the title to my short story collection which comes out along with Gidion’s Blood on August 11th. The title will be…

The Deadlands: And Other Stories

Earlier this week, I told you a bit about The Deadlands. It was my first short story to get into an anthology. Even though it’s not the first story I ever sold, it marked a turning point for me as a writer. Ever since that story was released as part of the anthology Four in the Hole in 2011, I’ve managed to get something published every year since. The biggest success came in 2013 with the release of Gidion’s Hunt.

Yeah, that struggle? It's real, baby.

Yeah, that struggle? It’s real, baby.

The funny thing is that until my publisher suggested the title to the short story collection, I don’t think I really appreciated how much things turned around for me with that story. Part of writing is dealing with a steady stream of rejection. Every story that finds an agent and/or publisher usually received many more rejection letters along the way. The author’s previous efforts have also probably never found a home at all. So even with each small victory I’ve enjoyed the past four years, and even the big ones, it’s hard for me to not feel like I’m still fighting my way up a hill. I think a lot of writers think the same way, because we almost always experience that same part of the journey.

The collection features eleven fantasy stories, some dark and some goofy. You meet a boy capable of destroying the world and another who was born without a shadow. Dragons police all manner of mythical creatures, and a homicide detective chases down a killer who’s found an unsettling way into his head. The Richmond area where I live is featured in a lot of these stories, and I love that. This town offers a lot for a writer to explore. Some places I’ll take you are real and others only exist in my head, and some places in Richmond you might never see the same way again.

I know the next question many are likely to ask is when you’ll get to see the covers for The Deadlands: And Other Stories and both Gidion’s Blood and the re-release of Gidion’s Hunt. For that, you’ll need to wait a few more weeks. For what it’s worth, I’m just as eagerly awaiting those, too.

Get your copy of The Deadlands and Other Stories today
Available in Paperback & Ebook: Diversion Books, Amazon, B&N, iTunes, Google Play, Kobo
For autographed copies: Fountain Bookstore

About Bill Blume

Bill Blume discovered his love for the written word while in high school and has been writing ever since. His latest book Gidion's Blood is being released on August 11th by Diversion Books. His short stories have been in many fantasy anthologies and various ezines. Just like the father figure in his first novel, Bill works as a 911 dispatcher for Henrico County Police and has done so for more than a decade. He also served as the 2013 chair for James River Writers in Richmond, which produces one of the nation’s best annual conferences for educating and connecting writers.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Gidion Keep series, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Title to My Short Story Collection is…

  1. Ken says:

    A journey not many people get to take…

    Like

Leave a Reply

