Fangs God It’s Friday: Buffy, the Vampire Slayer

With Gidion’s Blood less than two months away, it’s only fair to give a nod to the vampire hunter most reminiscent of my teenage hero Gidion Keep. I remember when I first heard the WB network was starting a TV version of Buffy, the Vampire Slayer. I loved the 1992 film, and initially, I suspected a TV adaptation would fall short in every way imaginable. I couldn’t have been more wrong. While Joss Whedon has risen to new heights among fandom for his work in the Avengers films, you can’t discount the debt owed to actress Sarah Michelle Gellar for making Buffy a success on television.

Sarah Michelle Gellar as Buffy, the Vampire Slayer

I got hooked on the TV show pretty quickly, but as much as I enjoyed watching it, I don’t know that I would have believed it possible that Buffy, the Vampire Slayer would last for seven seasons. The show had some brains to back all its fluff, and Gellar’s performance always gave Buffy the depth she needed to be an interesting character.

When I need to explain to someone what my Gidion Keep series is like, one of my go-to responses is that it’s Buffy, the Vampire Slayer meets Burn Notice. I’ve even jokingly referred to Gidion as who you’d get if Buffy Summers and Michael Westen had a love child. Buffy and Gidion share a blend of drama and wit, and so it’s not surprising for me to realize that if I had to pick a vampire hunter other than Gidion as my all-time favorite, I’d probably have to go with Gellar’s Buffy.

An interesting bit of trivia: among my previous Fangs God It’s Friday entries, the second most popular entry of all time is Spike, the vampire who started as one of Buffy’s biggest enemies and later turned into an ally and something of a romantic interest (albeit in a very disturbing storyline).

The deadliest vampire is the one that got away. The only monster Gidion Keep never expected to face has returned for Gidion's Blood. Rejoin the hunt August 11th!
Available in Paperback & Ebook: Diversion Books, Amazon, B&N, iTunes, Google Play, Kobo
For autographed copies: Fountain Bookstore

About Bill Blume

Bill Blume discovered his love for the written word while in high school and has been writing ever since. His latest book Gidion's Blood is being released on August 11th by Diversion Books. His short stories have been in many fantasy anthologies and various ezines. Just like the father figure in his first novel, Bill works as a 911 dispatcher for Henrico County Police and has done so for more than a decade. He also served as the 2013 chair for James River Writers in Richmond, which produces one of the nation’s best annual conferences for educating and connecting writers.
This entry was posted in Fangs God It's Friday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fangs God It’s Friday: Buffy, the Vampire Slayer

  1. Pingback: Fangs God It’s Friday: Gidion Keep | Bill Blume

Leave a Reply

