My Short Story Collection: The Light Well

When my short story collection, The Deadlands: And Other Stories, comes out August 11th, it will include a “newish” piece entitled The Light Well. I call it “newish” because I made this one available for free online for a brief time a few years ago.

Picture of the Full Moon

Don’t stare at this too long.
You might turn into a lunatic.

The Light Well was born out of the idea of the full moon turning people into lunatics. As a 911 dispatcher, I’ll admit that it seems like the nights of the full moon do get crazier. I’ve even noticed some of the new moon nights can get just as bad. Supposedly, statistics don’t support the notion of the moon affecting people’s behavior (at least, that’s what Wikipedia suggests). My wife, who is also a 911 dispatcher, has suggested more than once that the full moon just makes it easier for people to see things at night, so it increases the likelihood of them seeing something that merits calling into 911. She might be onto something with that.

The Light Well takes the idea of the full moon’s light and turns it into something that does far more than make certain people crazy. The story adds a small twist on the werewolf myth, too, which is probably the closest I’ll ever come to writing a werewolf story, because I’m just not a fan of those shaggy monsters (yeah, I write about vampire hunters, so I’m a little elitist about my preferred monsters of the night).

When my editor read through the stories in this collection, she surprised me by picking The Light Well as one of her two favorites. I’ll be curious to see how the rest of you respond to it. As for the other story that my editor picked as her favorites, you’ll have to wait for another blog post as I countdown to the release of The Deadlands: And Other Stories and Gidion’s Blood. We’re just seven weeks away from their release!

Get your copy of The Deadlands and Other Stories today
Available in Paperback & Ebook: Diversion Books, Amazon, B&N, iTunes, Google Play, Kobo
For autographed copies: Fountain Bookstore

About Bill Blume

Bill Blume discovered his love for the written word while in high school and has been writing ever since. His latest book Gidion's Blood is being released on August 11th by Diversion Books. His short stories have been in many fantasy anthologies and various ezines. Just like the father figure in his first novel, Bill works as a 911 dispatcher for Henrico County Police and has done so for more than a decade. He also served as the 2013 chair for James River Writers in Richmond, which produces one of the nation’s best annual conferences for educating and connecting writers.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Short Story Collection: The Light Well

  1. Pingback: My Short Story Collection: Zombie Walk | Bill Blume

Leave a Reply

