13 Things About Gidion Keep: Dad

Banner art for "13 Things About Gidion Keep, the Countdown to Gidion's Blood"

11 Days to Go

With 11 days to go until the release of my new book Gidion’s Blood, I continue my series of little known details about the new book and the series as a whole. Yesterday, I shared a bit about Gidion’s grandpa. Today, let’s talk about Gidion’s father.

When I crafted the first book, I made Gidion’s father a 911 dispatcher on midnight shift for two reasons. One was because I am a 911 dispatcher, so I know a lot about the job and how it impacts a family. Two was because I needed a legitimate reason for Gidion to be able to get out of the house and hunt vampires without his father knowing he was doing it.

Making dad a dispatcher also provided me with a wonderful wealth of opportunity for Gidion’s knowledge base. Creating that single dad situation meant Gidion would know more than the average dispatcher’s child about the ins and outs of the job and how law enforcement works. All that information proved insanely useful in Gidion’s vampire hunting. I never would have expected that when I started the book, but it helped a lot, adding a thick layer of reality to a fantastically unbelievable situation.

Gidion's father Aric Keep at the grave of Gidion's mother from the book trailer.

Gidion’s father Aric Keep at the grave of Gidion’s mother, an image taken from the second teaser trailer for Gidion’s Blood.

The reason I placed Dad on the midnight shift wasn’t simply about getting him out of the house at night. One of the more disturbing cliches in young adult fiction is the absentee parent. As a writer, you need to make sure you place your characters in peril, and that means taking away all potential safety nets that might exist. In most cases, that means having an involved parent doesn’t fit into most plots. There are ways to include a parent in a story that work well, and then there are others that leave the reader rolling their eyes and wondering where the hell Social Services is during all this mess. I was determined Gidion’s dad would not fall into that latter camp.

I often find myself needing to trim scenes between Gidion and his father, because those scenes are a guilty pleasure for me. I love seeing the two of them together and how their personalities play off one another. They love each other and there’s no missing how much Gidion idolizes and cares about his dad.

Gidion’s Blood provides a lot of opportunity to explore Gidion’s relationship with his father. Even better, readers (and Gidion) will get a little more insight into Aric Keep’s hunting days. While it’s only natural Gidion’s Dad plays an important part in these stories, his part in Gidion’s Blood is big and one of my favorite parts to this book.

Another interesting tidbit about Dad is that the second teaser trailer I produced for the book features him, giving readers a small idea of what his role will be in this book. Given a lot of me goes into Aric Keep’s DNA, I voiced that one myself.

About Bill Blume

Bill Blume discovered his love for the written word while in high school and has been writing ever since. His latest book Gidion's Blood is being released on August 11th by Diversion Books. His short stories have been in many fantasy anthologies and various ezines. Just like the father figure in his first novel, Bill works as a 911 dispatcher for Henrico County Police and has done so for more than a decade. He also served as the 2013 chair for James River Writers in Richmond, which produces one of the nation’s best annual conferences for educating and connecting writers.
This entry was posted in Gidion Keep series, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

