13 Thing About Gidion Keep: Grandma

9 Days to Go

A lot of Gidion’s speculation about his Dad and Grandpa’s hunting days tends to focus on how it cost his mother’s life. In today’s countdown to the release of Gidion’s Blood, I’m going to mention the seemingly forgotten woman in the Keep family. The woman I’m referring to is Gidion’s grandmother.

With so much going on within the first book, it’s easy to take for granted that Grandpa lives alone. Grandma Keep holds an important place within the vampire hunting activities of the family history, though. Make no mistake about it. Somewhere down the line, I plan to reveal a lot more about Grandma, but Gidion’s Blood will finally reveal a little of her past. Most of all, you learn how she died.

While I knew Grandpa’s past hunting days had brought him to Grandma and that whatever happened had forced them to Richmond to hide (oh, yes… they didn’t choose to live in the 804 just because “Virginia is for lovers”), most of their past stayed foggy for me throughout the first book. Even when I started Gidion’s Blood, a lot of their history stayed hidden from me. It wasn’t until I broke one of my fingers in March of last year that I experienced an epiphany about Gidion’s grandparents.

I promise I’m not flipping you off (not intentionally).

First things first. I suspect some of you are more curious as to how I broke a finger. I was moving a filing cabinet that fell on my left hand. The fracture to my index finger stopped me from writing for four weeks, which frustrated the hell out of me. The break (pun intended) from actively writing Gidion’s Blood left me with little to do other than mull over the various plot threads. I can’t point to anything signifcant happening in the moment the answers came to me, but just having nothing but that time to pull back from the act of writing and think brought it all together for me. Things I’d had Grandpa say and do in the first book suddenly took on added meanings. While there are many things I’ve known would happen in the series since even before I wrote the first sentence in the first book, the finer details of Grandma’s life and death aren’t among them, but it’s as if my subconscious had figured it out a long time ago, planting seeds in Gidion’s Hunt that even I didn’t actively realized were there.

Gidion’s Blood won’t offer readers all the answers regarding Grandma or Grandpa, but it will offer some new insights that I hope readers will enjoy when the book comes out August 11th.

The deadliest vampire is the one that got away. The only monster Gidion Keep never expected to face has returned for Gidion's Blood. Rejoin the hunt August 11th!
Available in Paperback & Ebook: Diversion Books, Amazon, B&N, iTunes, Google Play, Kobo
For autographed copies: Fountain Bookstore

About Bill Blume

Bill Blume discovered his love for the written word while in high school and has been writing ever since. His latest book Gidion's Blood is being released on August 11th by Diversion Books. His short stories have been in many fantasy anthologies and various ezines. Just like the father figure in his first novel, Bill works as a 911 dispatcher for Henrico County Police and has done so for more than a decade. He also served as the 2013 chair for James River Writers in Richmond, which produces one of the nation’s best annual conferences for educating and connecting writers.
This entry was posted in Gidion Keep series, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

