13 Things About Gidion Keep: The Little Hearse

4 Days to Go

Gidion's car of choice, a grey 2010 Kia Soul, a.k.a. the Little HearseWhen I started writing the Gidion Keep series, I didn’t get very far into the book before I needed to go car shopping. Not for me. No, Gidion needed a car, and this couldn’t be a simple choice for style. Hunting vampires provided some more important and practical considerations. All this led me to the 2010 Kia Soul.

You might think the choice of a car with the name “Soul” must have been made because if offers some tongue-in-cheek acknowledgement to the life-and-death stakes in the book or the souless monsters Gidion hunts. I wish I could make that claim, but I chose the Kia Soul for purely practical reasons.

When I made the choice to not let my vampires go “poof” into ash upon death, that made body disposal a factor. My initial solution to this was to make Gidion’s grandfather a mortician whose funeral home has a cremator. Problem solved, except Gidion has to get the bodies there. To do that, Gidion needed trunk space.

The trunk to Gidion's car of choice, a grey 2010 Kia Soul, a.k.a. the Little Hearse. You could fit a body in there. Just sayin'.

The trunk to Gidion’s Kia Soul, a.k.a. the Little Hearse. You could fit a body in there. Just sayin’.

I searched online for a lot of different cars, and while I could certainly have given Gidion cars with more trunk space, I wanted to consider the price of the car, too. I eventually decided that with Grandpa willing to help pay the bill, the car that fit best was the Kia Soul. I wish I could remember the other cars I considered, because it would be fun to compare them now, but I’m afraid I no longer have that information.

It’s hard to believe that as I post this, we’re just four days away from the new book’s release. Gidion’s Blood will be published on Tuesday, August 11th.

The cover to the ebook short story Gidion's Assassin

Gidion’s Assassin
now available as an ebook
on Amazon, B&N, and Kobo

A quick reminder that August 10th will be the last day you can buy my short story Gidion’s Assassin as an ebook. The story introduces Jun, a young vampire who gets paid to hunt down vampire hunters and eliminate them, as she pursues a hunter through the streets of Hong Kong. Her tale reveals just how deadly an opponent Gidion will face in Gidion’s Blood. Starting Tuesday, the only way to read Gidion’s Assassin will be to buy my short story collection The Deadlands: And Other Stories, which includes her story.

Get your copy of The Deadlands and Other Stories today
Available in Paperback & Ebook: Diversion Books, Amazon, B&N, iTunes, Google Play, Kobo
For autographed copies: Fountain Bookstore

About Bill Blume

Bill Blume discovered his love for the written word while in high school and has been writing ever since. His latest book Gidion's Blood is being released on August 11th by Diversion Books. His short stories have been in many fantasy anthologies and various ezines. Just like the father figure in his first novel, Bill works as a 911 dispatcher for Henrico County Police and has done so for more than a decade. He also served as the 2013 chair for James River Writers in Richmond, which produces one of the nation’s best annual conferences for educating and connecting writers.
This entry was posted in Gidion Keep series, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

