13 Things About Gidion Keep: Music from the Book Trailers

3 Days to Go

There are some places you don’t scrimp. When I decided to produce a book trailer for the first book in the Gidion Keep series, Gidion’s Hunt, my old publisher suggested I explore some of the free music websites. After several hours listening to far too many inadequate music samples, I reached one simple conclusion: when it comes to music, you get your money’s worth.

I also learned I couldn’t simply approach a musician and ask them to create the music. As much as I enjoy movie scores and constantly listen to music while I write, I don’t speak that language. I don’t know how to convey to a musician what I want. That meant I needed to look elsewhere. A bit of googling led me to a website called PremiumBeat.com that specializes in royalty-free music. Pay a small price for it once, and I’d be done.

That still meant listening through a ton of music, because the selection was massive. Many of the pieces sounded great, but they were either too bombastic for what I needed or too slow. I ended up with a piece of music by Richard Canavan called Massive Cinematic Action. The music ran for more than two minutes, but I only needed about 40 seconds worth, which I edited together pulling from the last two-thirds of the music.

I was pleased with how that first book trailer turned out, so I upped my game a bit for the second book. I decided to take the film approach of teaser trailers, leading up to a final trailer. I needed different music for Gidion’s Blood, because the mood of the second book was darker than the first. I returned to the same website where I found the first piece of music. It didn’t take long for me to realize the best place to start my search was to go back to the same composer.

The second song I purchased was entitled Dark Horizons, and it fit the mood of what I wanted for the second book’s trailers. I intentionally used the exact same clip from Dark Horizons for all three of the teaser trailers to connect them.

I’d originally planned to pull more music from Dark Horizons for the final trailer with Gidion’s voice, but I realized I needed something different. The music needed more energy and a much faster beat, to let me do some sharper editing. I realized I still had more than a minute of material from the music I’d purchased for Gidion’s Hunt, and the portion of the music I hadn’t yet used was perfect for what I planned.

I can officially call myself a fan of Richard Canavan. He does great stuff. A lot of his promotional music sounds so good, I wish I could buy more of it just to play it for my personal entertainment. Alas, it’s not to be had so easily. He does compose film scores, though. The Whovians among you will probably get a kick out this next factoid. Among his credits, Richard scored a film written by Noel Clarke (a.k.a. Mickey Smith from Doctor Who) about professional sprinters called Fast Girls.

And for any “machineheads” like myself and my daughter, you’ll be impressed to know that Richard also composed two songs for Audiomachine on their industry album Intros. You can listen to one of the tracks by visiting Richard’s website.

The deadliest vampire is the one that got away. The only monster Gidion Keep never expected to face has returned for Gidion's Blood. Rejoin the hunt August 11th!
Available in Paperback & Ebook: Diversion Books, Amazon, B&N, iTunes, Google Play, Kobo
For autographed copies: Fountain Bookstore

About Bill Blume

Bill Blume discovered his love for the written word while in high school and has been writing ever since. His latest book Gidion's Blood is being released on August 11th by Diversion Books. His short stories have been in many fantasy anthologies and various ezines. Just like the father figure in his first novel, Bill works as a 911 dispatcher for Henrico County Police and has done so for more than a decade. He also served as the 2013 chair for James River Writers in Richmond, which produces one of the nation’s best annual conferences for educating and connecting writers.
This entry was posted in Gidion Keep series, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

