13 Things About Gidion Keep: Page

2 Days to Go

Many of the characters in my Gidion Keep series draw on a bit of reality, but none of them are actually based on real people. I just take small aspects of people I know and blend them together. There is one exception to this, sort of: Gidion’s dog Page.

This picture was taken without Page's approval. She'd sue, but she can't afford an attorney.

This picture was taken without Page’s approval. She’d sue, but she can’t afford an attorney.

Page has found her way into many of my creative endeavors. For the Gidion Keep series, she provides a useful role, almost always as a type of early warning system for vampires coming after Gidion. I think many readers also miss that Page is the equivalent of Grandpa’s arsenal. Grandpa has filled his house with swords and rifles, but Gidion’s father doesn’t have that option. Instead, he uses Page as a way to protect him and his son. Grandpa’s many weapons and Page are all signs of an aging vampire hunter, the measures one must take when an enemy who never grows old might return for revenge at any time.

The real Page became part of my family more than a decade ago. As a person who’s worked as a 911 dispatcher and has at times worked the midnight shift, I’ve often taken comfort in knowing my German shepherd-golden retriever mix was in the house with my family. While my wife jokingly refers to Page as “the World’s Most Boring Dog,” she can intimidate the hell out of a stranger who comes knocking on our door. Door-to-door salesmen look relieved when I close the door on them. I love our dog.

Page with me, Frank and other members of The Wildcat's Lair cast.

Page with me, Frank, and other members of The Wildcat’s Lair cast.

Page didn’t just find her way into my Gidion Keep books, though. Prior to that, she became one of the recurring characters in a webcomic I did for many years that was called The Wildcat’s Lair. The webcomic featured a talking cat named Frank whose fur was black with blue stripes. Frank lived in my house with my family, so naturally, Page showed up quite often and with the two at odds. Page was also the mob boss of the canine underworld in Richmond and known in those circles as the Big Bitch. In an unintended bit of irony, the last episode didn’t even include Frank but featured me and Page. Just for laughs, I’m presenting that episode here for your amusement.

The Wildcat’s Lair
Episode Title: Twisted Tails
August 22, 2012

One day I might return to the webcomic for a few more episodes to give it a proper finale. It was a lot of fun to do, but my writing has taken priority where my creative free time is concerned. I’m happy to say that Gidion Keep is to blame for that.

About Bill Blume

Bill Blume discovered his love for the written word while in high school and has been writing ever since. His latest book Gidion's Blood is being released on August 11th by Diversion Books. His short stories have been in many fantasy anthologies and various ezines. Just like the father figure in his first novel, Bill works as a 911 dispatcher for Henrico County Police and has done so for more than a decade. He also served as the 2013 chair for James River Writers in Richmond, which produces one of the nation’s best annual conferences for educating and connecting writers.
This entry was posted in Gidion Keep series, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 13 Things About Gidion Keep: Page

  1. kaherndon says:

    Everything is as it should be . . . but I do miss the webcomic.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

