Fangs God It’s Friday: Lucy and Mina

For the month of October, I’m featuring cosplayers who’ve dressed up as vampires or vampire hunters, and for my second installment, I’m featuring a duo of cosplayers. This past summer, Rat Miller and Ebony Amber dressed up as the infamous ladies Dracula sinks his fangs into in Bram Stoker’s classic.

I will admit that I’m not the biggest fan of the film Bram Stoker’s Dracula. Doesn’t mean I hate it, but I’ll save my gripes about the film for another blog post. For tonight, I want to marvel at the work of these two ladies, because they really nailed the looks of these two characters from the film. When I saw pictures of cosplayers at this year’s Boston ComicCon show up in my Instagram feed, these pictures stood out.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

First off, Rat Miller’s interpretation of Lucy Westenra really captures the monster she becomes as a vampire. Frankly, I think she’d scare me to meet her in person dressed up like this (and that’s saying something). I think the fun of Ebony Amber’s take on Mina Harker is that she goes full vampire with it. In the film, Winona Ryder technically wears this red dress before she grows fangs. At that point in the film, Dracula is busy courting her in the proper manner, but I love the way Ebony Amber shows how Mina might have turned out had Dracula gone all the way to take his woman.

You can find both ladies online, and it’s definitely worth checking out their cosplay work. These pictures alone give you a good idea of how skilled they are at their craft. I’ve listed the links below:

Rat Miller:
Instagram: @ratdear

Ebony Amber:
Instagram: @everything_ebony_amber
Facebook: EverythingEbonyAmber
Twitter: @EbonyAmber13

If you haven’t checked out last week’s Saya by Haiden Hazard, then you certainly should. Next week’s cosplayer will be a vampire who promises an “adventurous time.”

About Bill Blume

Bill Blume discovered his love for the written word while in high school and has been writing ever since. His latest book Gidion's Blood is being released on August 11th by Diversion Books. His short stories have been in many fantasy anthologies and various ezines. Just like the father figure in his first novel, Bill works as a 911 dispatcher for Henrico County Police and has done so for more than a decade. He also served as the 2013 chair for James River Writers in Richmond, which produces one of the nation’s best annual conferences for educating and connecting writers.
This entry was posted in Fangs God It's Friday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

