Six Worst Draculas: Hotel Transylvania

For Halloween tomorrow, I’m going to finish my list of the Six Worst Draculas. However, tonight, I’m including a dishonorable mention. 2012 was the year the world was supposed to come to an end (remember that whole Mayan prophecy thing that wasn’t really a Mayan prophecy that had everyone freaking out?), but while the world didn’t end, that year took a shot at putting the last stake in Dracula with the animated film Hotel Transylvania.

Six Worst Draculas banner

Dishonorable Mention: Adam Sandler in Hotel Transylvania

Adam Sandler as Dracula in Hotel TransylvaniaSure, I could point to the fact that Dracula was reduced to starring in a kids film. Even worse, the film turned him into an overprotective dad. Let’s be honest, though, you only need two words to explain why this film’s Dracula deserves a place on this list, even if it is only as a dishonorable mention: Adam Sandler.

So why only a dishonorable mention? Because I’ve never even seen the entire film. I’ve sat through a good portion of it, but even if I hadn’t, I’d be including this version of Dracula on my list. Sorry, when it comes to movies, Adam Sandler is always a good reason not to watch. I’m sure some of you feel differently. You might have been suckered in by the cute animation or the father/daughter storyline, but there’s not enough positives to make me sit through an Adam Sandler film, even if it’s only his voice.

Tomorrow, I finish my list with the worst Dracula ever. I’ll warn you in advance that my #1 pick will definitely be the most obscure of my choices for this list.

About Bill Blume

Bill Blume discovered his love for the written word while in high school and has been writing ever since. His latest book Gidion's Blood is being released on August 11th by Diversion Books. His short stories have been in many fantasy anthologies and various ezines. Just like the father figure in his first novel, Bill works as a 911 dispatcher for Henrico County Police and has done so for more than a decade. He also served as the 2013 chair for James River Writers in Richmond, which produces one of the nation’s best annual conferences for educating and connecting writers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Six Worst Draculas: Hotel Transylvania

  1. Pingback: Six Worst Draculas: Van Helsing | Bill Blume

Leave a Reply

